All About Cornerbrook
Over 42,000 people reside in the Corner Brook region, with 20,105 in the City of Corner Brook and over 20,000 residing in communities along the shores of the Bay of Islands and in the Humber River Valley. The majority of the regions residents travel to Corner Brook to shop, work or go to school. The Citys location makes it the hub of distribution, service, retail and medical activity for the West coast of Newfoundland.
Experience our picturesque City from many groomed walking trails or visit the Captain James Cook Monument and bask in the glory of the sun setting over the Bay of Islands. Step back in time at the Corner Brook Museum and Archives or the Railway Society of Newfoundland Historic Train Site. Explore our downtown area and discover unique gifts and crafts and dine out in one of the Citys many fine restaurants. Take a scenic drive along the coast of the Bay of Islands or have a more extreme adventure in Gros Morne National Park, just one hour away.
The history of the Corner Brook region is long and diverse. For thousands of years, people have lived and worked along the shores of the Bay of Islands and in the Humber River Valley, including two aboriginal groups the Maritime Archaic Indians and the Beothuk people.
James Cook, the famous British cartographer and explorer was the first to survey and record the geography of the Bay of Islands. Throughout the summer of 1767 he surveyed most of the area and copies of the maps he created are displayed at the Captain James Cook Monument in Corner Brook.
The area served as a meeting, marketing and distribution point for local fisherman, who fished the Strait of Belle Isle by summer and spent the winters working in Corner Brooks lumber woods. Permanent settlement came as a result of the island wide railway system and the construction of the pulp and paper mill in the mid 1920s. During the war years of 1939 1945, both the pulp and paper industry and the fishery were booming and Corner Brook was prosperous. Soon after the end of World War II, a cement plant and a gypsum wallboard plant were established, creating new jobs in addition to those already available at the areas three fish processing plants, and at the paper mill.
Four distinct communities with unique commercial activities had developed along the shores of the Bay of Islands. Curling with its fishery; Corner Brook West (also known as Humber West or Westside) with its retail businesses; Corner Brook East (also known as Humbermouth and the Heights) with its railway operations; and Townsite (known as Corner Brook), home to the employees of the pulp and paper mill. In 1956, these four communities were amalgamated to form the present day City of Corner Brook.
Theatre and art are alive in Corner Brook. Theatre Newfoundland and Labrador (TNL), one of the provinces only professional theatre companies, maintains its home office in Corner Brook. The Arts and Culture Centre sets the stage for visiting productions ballet companies, comedians, theatrical productions and musical artists all make Corner Brook a stop on their Canadian tours.
The visual arts are also thriving in Corner Brook. Painters, photographers and sculptors find inspiration in the landscape and culture of Corner Brook and a number of art galleries display and sell their work. Those interested in visual art can study at Memorial University of Newfoundland's Sir Wilfred Grenfell College, which has offered a Bachelor of Fine Arts program since 1988.